Community News

Philippine team breaks math borders in Bulgaria

The Philippine team medalists and cup holders.

Fourteen Filipino students won five gold, two silver and seven bronze medals in the individual final round of the 5th International Tournament Mathematics Without Borders held in Bulgaria from June 30 to July 2.
This is the Philippines’ first participation in the tilt, organized by the Education without Borders Pedagogical Association (Bulgaria) and Innovation Science & Education Center (Kazakhstan), under the patronage of the mayor of Nessebar, Nikolay Dimitrov.
Almost 1,000 students from 15 countries competed in the final round. Tournament Cups were awarded to the three most successful students from each age group and country.
Three Filipino students received Tournament Cups for outstanding performances. Harry Gerard Perez (Grade 2, De La Salle Lipa) and Alexander Peter Benedict Lomibao (Grade 3, Ateneo de Manila) received the Golden Cup while Hans Dominic Gamboa (Grade 6, MGC New Life Christian Academy) received the Silver Cup.
All tournament cup awardees were crowned laurel wreaths, while each Golden Cup awardee received a Sony PS4 1 TB PlayStation.
Lomibao received a plaque for being the “Math Star of the Tournament.” He scored 29 out of 30 in the final round, making him the country’s most successful contestant.
In the Team Contest, the Philippine contestants were assigned according to age group. Philippine Age Group 9 team composed of Bikram Chohan Singh (Grade 12, Notre Dame of Greater Manila), Angelo Vince Perez (Grade 9, De La Salle Lipa) and Alison Chloe Lim Tan (Grade 11, Ateneo) beat the Vietnam team to win second place (tied with Iran), behind Bulgaria.
In the Individual Category, all Philippine contestants reaped a bountiful harvest of awards:
• Gold: Perez, Lomibao, Gamboa, Wesley Gavin Palomar (Philippine Science High School-Main) and Bikram Chohan Singh (Notre Dame);
• Silver: Erin Nicole Blanche (PSHS-Main) and Angelo Vince Perez (De La Salle Lipa);
• Bronze: Ellison Matthew Ang (St. Jude Catholic School), Justine Aaron Co (St. Jude), Kate Dominique Siaco (St. Jude), Kyle Aidan Chua (MGC New Life), Isabela Gabrielle Lomibao (PSHS-Main), Arthur Caleb Lim Co (PSHS-Central Luzon) and Alison Chloe Lim Tan (Ateneo).
Also with the Philippine team were team leader and president of the Asian MathSci League Rechilda Villame and deputy team leader Dennis Dimaala.